Login Form



Photo to come

  Jana Sperandio
  Church Secretary
  E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The name Presbyterian comes from the Greek word for elder, presbuteroi.  It describes the way the church is governed, with oversight resting on elected bodies at the congregational, regional and national levels.  Theologically, we continue the practice of electing elders to stay in continuity with our Biblical roots.  We elect rather than appoint our elders to uphold our belief in full congregational participation and follow a tradition of democracy and representative government instead of hierarchy and centralization of power with the clergy.

The governing council in each congregation is called the Session, a body made up of men and women known as "Ruling Elders" who have been "set apart" by election and ordination into a leadership role.  The Session meets every other month to coordinate the mission of the church.

Connellsville Presbyterian has three active Rulng Elders divided into three classes.  New elders are elected by the congregation each year to replace those whose term has expired. Once ordained, one is always an elder -- whether active on session or not.

The session has authority over all organizations within the local church. The elders pray for members of the congregation, provide spiritual guidance for the congregation, enable the preaching of the Word and worship services, oversee the teaching of the Word, establish and oversee Christian Education, appoint representatives to higher courts (presbytery, general assembly), serve communion, exercise church discipline, maintain the records and budget of the church, approve actions of special importance affecting church property and perform other duties to direct the affairs of the church.

Constitutional Officers
Office Name Email Address
Clerk of Session vacant  
Treasurer Scott Brooks This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Session of Connellsville Presbyterian
Class of 2021 Class of 2022 Class of 2023
Scott Brooks vacant Patty Miller

The ministry of Connellsville Presbyterian is coordinated through six committees.   Each committee can be chaired a Ruling Elder on Session, or a member of the congregation, and is composed of congregation members who volunteer their time and talents to help with the mission of Connellsville Presbyterian.    Please contact the Session chair to find out about participating on a committee.



The Building Committee is responsible for ensuring the church building and grounds are maintained and operational to support the ministries of the congregation

Christian Discipleship
and Education

The Christian Discipleship & Education Committee is responsible for providing the opportunities for Christian growth to all members and children so they may grow in their walk with Christ.

Congregational Care   

The Congregational Care Committee is responsible for Christian fellowship opportunities, as well as care for our congregation, including our shut-ins.

 R.E. Scott Brooks

The Finance Committee is responsible for all financial and corporate oversight and requirements.


The Outreach/Mission Committee is responsible for reaching out to visitors, and members of the Connellsville community; and to identfy opportunities for mission in Fayette and the world, and provide a consistant, unified focus for mission at Connellsville Presbyterian.


 R.E. Polly Dye

The Worship Committee is responsible for organizing and supporting Worship, music and the Sacraments on Sundays and special occasions.

Go to top